Road Trip & Accepting Myself For Where I’m At

Happy Friday! Finally… I know right!  This week felt all kinds of off to me and it kept dragging by.  But the weekend is here!  Yay!

Got big plans? I’m excited for a road trip with mom & sis!  It’s my sister’s first soccer tournament in Special Olympics.  She has cerebral palsy.  To say she is excited is an understatement!  I’m excited too.  Not just to see her play but for the time with my mom & sister.  We haven’t gotten to spend time like that together for a while.  Hopefully it ends well and we don’t end up pulling each others hair out.  I kid. I kid.  OK maybe just a little.

10563130665_0a0f05dba4_bDo you ever get anxious about going away on trips like this?  No exercise, eating out.  I have to admit it’s been weighing on me.  Monday-Thursday this week I crammed in my miles to make sure I could get in as many as possible this week.  My weekly mileage will still fall short unless I’m able to get a run in Sunday but I’m trying to remind myself that’s okay if I don’t.  I won’t be doing anything today either.  Between work & getting my hair did, no time for a run.  So it’s just a couple days and I will not balloon up and I’ll be okay.  Right?  I mean we can’t be perfect all the time and that’s okay.  My goal this weekend is to focus on my time with my mom & sister.  I’m not going to stress over food or missing a run.

One thing I’ve been working very hard on lately is loving myself for who I am and where I’m at.  So I’m a little extra fluffy at the moment than I’d rather be.  But I’m okay with that.  It’s coming off and I’m going to be patient with myself.  I’m trying not to be so hard on myself or punish myself for slip ups or missed workouts.  It can be easier said than done though.  But there is only one of you and no one can be a better you, than you.  I think true happiness depends on accepting yourself for who you are.  With all the things that we deal with and have to go through in life, why do we make it harder for ourselves by being our worst critics?  Life’s too short isn’t it?

Have a great weekend!  And do something extra special for you.

How about you, do you have big weekend plans?

What do you do to remind yourself not to be so hard on yourself?

One thought on “Road Trip & Accepting Myself For Where I’m At

Leave a Comment

