Happy Friday!

Happy Friday everybody! Has this week be extremely slow for you too? My countdown to my Christmas vacation has begun! I have four days to go! Yay! I have quite a bit of vacation days left and I’m sure gonna use them.

Are you ready for the holidays? Nope, me either. I can’t believe Christmas is almost here! Although I think I probably say that every year. I’m more ready for vacation than the holidays. No tree yet…. usually I’m a day-after-Thanksgiving-decorate-the-tree kind of girl. But this year I seem to be struggling to find the time or motivation. I think next week that should get better. That seems to be the week & weekend for parties & events. I have a holiday work dinner, taking my sister to Disney on Ice, my running group Christmas breakfast, and a holiday cookie exchange. Maybe that will get my butt in gear for the holidays.

My mom sure has gotten into the holidays! She awesome with decorating. She sent me a some pictures last night of her decorating.

11238765224_316b521a7d_z.jpg

image

Only a couple days left until my half. My “taper” (if you want to call it that:)) seems to be going well. Although I still have those classic thoughts, “Should I be running more?” “Will I loose any speed or endurance?” Yada yada yada. Yes, I know, “the hay is in the barn”. An extra speed session is not going to help me at this point. Logically I know all that, but I think a runner always has their “what-if” thoughts before a race. Three easy miles tonight and I’m done.

Every race I do, I’ve always tried to buy myself a new piece of running gear. Yes, I’m that runner that wears a new shirt on race day. I know, you shouldn’t try anything new on race day. I’m a rebel, what can I say. Luckily I haven’t had that back fire on me yet. So I took a little trip to Dick’s Sporting Good’s yesterday and had a little fun. Ok, an entire outfit of fun. I can’t go in there without getting into trouble.

11238772106_cf42e903e9_z.jpg

Usually I’m a diehard Nike tempo shorts runner, but I decided to try something different. I bought my first pair of Brook’s shorts and I’m in love. I’ll let you know how they work!

As far as my goal goes, I haven’t decided. I think I’m going to see how I feel Sunday morning. The weather is not looking to great – a high of 38 with some freezing rain! Even Chicago was not that bad! So either I’ll run fast so I won’t freeze my butt off. Or my legs will start to freeze, get stiff, and slow me down.

If you’re doing a long run tomorrow, good luck! My plan tomorrow is to go to packet pickup & find some kind of Christmasy socks for the race!

Do you have any races coming up?

Are you ready for the holidays?

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday!

  1. I love that you buy yourself something new for every race…I try to do that too!! It’s so much fun and gets me really excited to run!!:) GOOD LUCK tomorrow, you will feel like a bad ass when you’re all done and sitting back at home sipping something warm!:) I will think warm thoughts for you!! 🙂

Leave a Comment

